top of page

YES, I AM A SALES PERSON

The comment was made while I was sitting down with my contact at Saint Vincent

de Paul where I had just finished helping serve over 700 homeless people. Each

Monday for the past 10 plus years, Jimmy Walker who sells insurance to NBA

legend Michael Jordan and created Celebrity Fight Night brings in a speaker to

encourage the people that SVDP serves.

“Watch out for Michael he is a salesman” was the comment made as the gentleman

as he passed by. I was meeting to discuss the development of our own signature

charity program for MedHealthIQ which will help the children of the families they

serve in career choices.

Yes, I am a salesperson and I am proud of it.

As my Life Coach Arnie Fonseca likes to say, there are two ways people make

money in this world. You sell something or you inherit it.

My first job out of college was with a company that is ironically based in Arizona.

I was a field representative for Avnet Electronics back in the

Baltimore/Washington DC area. I followed that up with a very successful sales

career with a division of Honeywell, going on to set records in both revenue and

profitability and benefitting financially myself in ways I had never imagined.

I even spent a few years out of the sports and entertainment business selling cars.

Now that is a tough gig especially if you are a transparent and honest person like

myself.

So when this gentleman said what he did my first reaction was “is that how I am

viewed’? After all, I own multiple companies, have pulled together many

resources in all of them in my role as CEO and I was meeting with a charity to help

others.

Well as I have learned long ago after reading The Four Agreements, you can’t take

things personally.

Selling is something that comes naturally to me. I love to help people and hearing

what their needs are. I also surround myself with respected people and quality

companies, many of which I have successfully done business with. With past and


current agency clients that have included respected brands such as Apple, Hershey,

the WTA Women’s Tennis Tour and Tommy Bahama, there is no denying that I

“sold” someone on hiring us.

So this week when MedHealthIQ finally settled on our CBD manufacturer Alpha

Therapeutics, I asked them what were their greatest needs. Geoff Dada their CEO

said sales.

After spending a year evaluating different manufacturers including the two of the

largest worldwide, Kannaway and Folium Biosciences, I am glad I settled on

Arizona-based Alpha Therapeutics. Geoff runs his company with a similar

mindset with full transparency. The ingredients are listed on his packaging as is

the company that did the testing. There are less expensive products on the

marketplace, but since we are serving the professional and serious athlete

marketplace we want the best, not the cheapest.

With samples in my possession I set out to do a sales call yesterday to Vibrant

Health in Scottsdale. They are a full service health care practice and I completed

what I am confident will be the first in many more sales successful calls. In fact, I

plan to build a global network of like-minded sales people that want to help

athletes by providing the best in products, services and devices grounded in

Naturopathic Medicine.

So if you are in sales please take pride the next time someone makes a comment

that they may view as a put down. After all, a quality sales person is one of the

most important positions on the planet.

Michael Benson

MedHealthIQ CEO and Veteran Sales Person



Recent Posts

See All

A Giving Heart

Each year at this time we turn our attention to giving. Starting at Thanksgiving and going through Christmas, or the celebration associated with your Faith, we turn our focus away from ourselves and

The Quarterback Option

The hit came hard. Joe Flacco was leading a Baltimore Ravens charge downfield when Miami Dolphin linebacker Kiko Alonso hit him from the blind side knocking off Joe’s helmet and causing a cut to his l

I AM A SPARTAN

About two years ago, a good friend of mine Steve asked me if I wanted to participate in one of his favorite activities, a Spartan Race. I said “sure, why not?” There was one little problem. I really k

CALL US: 480-277-6623

bottom of page